Preobrazhenski manastir PDF Print E-mail
User Rating: / 1
PoorBest 

The Transfiguration Monastery (Bulgarian: Преображенски манастир, Preobrazhenski manastir) or the Monastery of the Holy Transfiguration of God (манастир "Свето Преображение Господне", manastir "Sveto Preobrazhenie Gospodne") is an Eastern Orthodox monastery located in the Dervent gorge of the Yantra River. It lies near the village of Samovodene, seven kilometres north of Veliko Tarnovo, in central northern Bulgaria. It is one of the five stauropegic monasteries of the Bulgarian Orthodox Church.

It is thought that the monastery was founded in the 11th century AD as a cloister of the Vatopedi monastery on Mount Athos. In 1360, when Tarnovo was the capital of the Second Bulgarian Empire and the traditions of hesychasm were popular in Bulgaria, it became an autonomous monastery on the order of Tsar Ivan Alexander of Bulgaria. This is legendarily tied to the charity of Ivan Alexander's second wife Sarah-Theodora and their son Ivan Shishman, a reason to also call the monastery Sarah's or Shishman's monastery.

After the Ottoman conquest of Bulgaria, the monastery was plundered and burned several times by the Turks and eventually entirely destroyed. It was only reestablished in 1825 by father Zoticus of the Rila Monastery by means of donations. In 1832, a firman of the Ottoman sultan allowed the construction of a new monastery church; the church was designed by the noted Bulgarian National Revival architect Kolyu Ficheto and completed in 1834. The cross-shaped church features three apses, a single dome and a covered narthex. The icons and frescoes of the main church were painted by another famous artist, Zahari Zograf, who worked in the monastery between 1849 and 1851, after he finished his decoration of the Troyan Monastery. Among the more notable murals are those of the Last Judgment, the Wheel of Life, the Birth of the Mother of God, the Last Supper. Zograf also painted Saints Cyril and Methodius, as well as a self-portrait. In addition, the main church was richly decorated on the outside and a wood-carved and gold-plated iconostasis was installed.

Between 1858 and 1863 Kolyu Ficheto constructed the seven-bell belfry, the residential buildings and the main entrance, as well as the underground chapel of Saint Andrew the First-called and the small Church of the Annunciation on top of it, with icons by Zahari Zograf's nephew Stanislav Dospevski.

 

YouTube Channel

You need Flash player 6+ and JavaScript enabled to view this video.


 

How to book your trip?

1) Email us @

info@visitbulgariaon.com

2) Call us at

+359.887.974269 or Skype

3) Find us socially on

Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | Pinterest

Plan now!

Paid advertisement

Banner
Banner
Banner
Map of Bulgaria
 
Bulgarian mountains
 
Rila lakes
 
Skiing in Bulgaria
 
Bulgarian pristine nature
 
Black Sea
 
Spring in Bulgaria
 
Shipa Bulgaria
 
Beautiful Bulgaria
 

Paid advertisement

Banner
Banner
Banner

Quality assured

VisitBulgariaOn.com is a product of VIP-Sliven Ltd - tour operator and travel agent with license number PK-01-6616 in the Bulgarian legislation. The tour operator is one of the pioneers to promote Bulgaria abroad.

Specialization

VIP-Sliven Ltd is acting as a DMC for destination Bulgaria, covering 95% of its territory with tailor-made products and welcomes foreigners from all countries who would like to experience something unique.

Contacts

office@visitbulgariaon.com

+359 887 974269

+359 878 387038

skype: VisitSliven

icq: 140714602

Follow us

Follow us on Twitter

Login Form